International General Assembly (IGA)

The International General Assembly (IGA) is DCI’s highest governing body and is composed of each representative national section in the movement.

The IGA steers the policies, priorities and positions of the DCI movement. It also elects the President and other members of the International Executive Council (IEC) who are mandated to govern the DCI movement in the interim between General Assemblies.

The International General Assembly meeting takes place every 3 years (every 5 years since 2012), and is hosted by a DCI national section. Previous IGA meetings have been held in:

  • Haikko, Finland (1987)
  • Granada, Spain (1992)
  • Dakar, Senegal (1997)
  • Mar de Plata, Argentina (2002)
  • Bethlehem, Palestine (2005)
  • Brussels, Belgium (2008)
  • Geneva, Switzerland (2012)
  • Geneva, Switzerland (2017)

DCI’s next International General Assembly is due to take place in 2021.

At the end of each International General Assembly, DCI adopts a declaration outlining its vision and priorities for the subsequent 3 years. Here below the most recent of these declarations:

  • The Bethlehem Declaration EN / FR / ES
  • The Brussels Declaration EN / FR / ES
  • The Munyonyo Declaration* EN / FR / ES
  • The Declaration for the Human Rights of Children EN / FR / ES


* declaration adopted in the framework of the Kampala Conference (7-8 November 2011)

This post is also available in: FR, ES