International General Assembly (IGA)

The International General Assembly (IGA) is DCI’s highest governing body and is composed of each representative national section in the movement.

The IGA steers the policies, priorities and positions of the DCI movement. It also elects the President and other members of the International Executive Council who are mandated to govern the DCI movement in the interim between General Assemblies.

The International General Assembly meeting takes place every 3 years (4 years since 2012), and is hosted by a DCI national section. Previous IGA meetings have been held in:

•    Haikko, Finland (1987)

•    Granada, Spain (1992)

•    Dakar, Senegal (1997)

•    Mar de Plata, Argentina (2002)

•    Bethlehem, Palestine (2005)

•    Brussels, Belgium (2008)

•    Geneva, Switzerland (2012)

DCI’s next International General Assembly is due to take place in 2016.

At the end of each International General Assembly, DCI adopts a declaration outlining its vision and priorities for the subsequent 3 years.

Here below the most recent of these declarations:

The Bethlehem Declaration  EN /  FR / ES

The Brussels Declaration  EN /  FR /  ES

The Munyonyo Declaration*   EN /  FR /  ES
* declaration  adopted in the framework of the  Kampala Conference (7-8 November 2011)